JUST IN: Lawan Emerges Senate President


There was jubilation in the House of Representatives chamber as news filtered in, of the emergence of Senator Ahmad Lawan as Senate President.

The Senator representing Yobe North constituency, Ahmed Lawan won the leadership position of the ninth National Assembly.

Senator Lawan defeated his opponent Ali-Ndume with 79 votes out of 107 senators who cast their votes.

The members-elect had been waiting for the conclusion of the Senate president and deputy Senate president elections before the Clerk to the National Assembly, Mr Mohammed Sani-Omolori would move to the House for the speakership and deputy speakership elections.

Several members-elect moved to where Mr Femi Gbajabiamila and Mr Idris Wase, candidates of the All Progressives Congress for Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively, were seated to congratulate them on Lawan’s victory in the Senate.

About The Author

A writer, communicator, Graduate of the Nigerian Institute of Journalism and a Christian.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *